DPW In The News

WBEZ 91.5 (Chicago Public Radio), Worldview, http://www.wbez.org/episode/worldview-12012, Jan. 20, 2012 (interview of Sandra Babcock on EU legislation aimed at limiting US access to European-produced drugs used to carry out executions). 

Carol J. Williams, Gambia, Iraq executions buck worldwide abolitionist trend, Los Angeles Times, http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/world_now/2012/08/gambia-iraq-executions-buck-worldwide-abolitionist-trend.html, Aug. 31, 2012. 

Will Davies, India Death Penalty Stats, The Wall Street Journal: Latest Headlines Live Blog, http://stream.wsj.com/story/latest-headlines/SS-2-63399/SS-2-323821/, Sep. 11, 2013.

AFP, Death for Qatari for killing British teacher, Gulf News, http://gulfnews.com/news/gulf/qatar/death-for-qatari-for-killing-british-teacher-1.1309557, Mar. 27, 2014.

Washington Post, Vietnam's punishment for corrupt bankers: Death, http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2014/04/04/vietnams-punishment-for-corrupt-bankers-death/?tid=hp_mm, Apr. 4, 2014.

Voice of Russia, Vietnam’s Death Penalty System Under Fire, http://voiceofrussia.com/us/2014_04_08/Vietnam-s-Death-Penalty-System-Under-Fire-1787?tid=hp_mm, Apr. 7, 2014.

AFP, Death for Qatari for killing British teacher, http://gulfnews.com/news/gulf/qatar/death-for-qatari-for-killing-british-teacher-1.1309557, Mar. 27, 2014.

Ekstra Bladet, Domstol: Fire voldtægtsmænd skal hænges, http://ekstrabladet.dk/112/article2237700.ece, Mar. 13, 2014.

Human Rights Watch, Saudi Arabia: Surge in Executions, http://www.hrw.org/news/2014/08/21/saudi-arabia-surge-executions, Aug. 21, 2014.

Al Jazeera America, Beheadings remain integral part of Saudi justice system, http://america.aljazeera.com/articles/2014/9/5/beheadings-floggingsandamputationsjusticesaudistyle.html, Sep. 11, 2014.

Jezebel, Woman Who Maintained Innocence Publicly Beheaded in Mecca, http://jezebel.com/woman-who-maintained-innocence-publicly-beheaded-in-mec-1680174883, Jan. 17, 2015.

Wall Street Journal, How Indonesia’s Record on Executions Stacks Up, http://blogs.wsj.com/indonesiarealtime/2015/01/20/how-indonesias-record-on-executions-stacks-up, Jan. 20, 2105.

Chicago Sun Times, Firing squads becoming more common in Indonesia, experts say, http://chicago.suntimes.com/nationworld/7/71/309820/bali-justice-may-end-firing-squad-couple-grew-oak-park, Jan. 21, 2015.

An Dien, Is Vietnam ready to abolish death penalty?, Thanh Nien News, http://www.thanhniennews.com/politics/is-vietnam-ready-to-abolish-death-penalty-37916.html, Jan. 22, 2015.

Catherine Gouëset, Arabie saoudite: cachez ces décapitations que je ne saurais voir, L'Express, http://www.lexpress.fr/actualite/monde/proche-moyen-orient/arabie-saoudite-cachez-ces-decapitations-que-je-ne-saurais-voir_1643218.html, Jan. 22, 2015.

Lora Moftah, Saudi Arabia Defends Public Beheadings After ISIS Comparisons, International Business Times, http://www.ibtimes.com/saudi-arabia-defends-public-beheadings-after-isis-comparisons-1802930, Feb. 2, 2015.

An Dien, Jury out as Vietnam holds fast to white-collar noose, Thanh Nien News, http://www.thanhniennews.com/politics/jury-out-as-vietnam-holds-fast-to-whitecollar-noose-39083.html, Feb. 26, 2015.

Sara Schonhardt, The Short Answer: Death Row Diplomacy in Indonesia, Wall Street Journal, http://blogs.wsj.com/briefly/2015/03/04/death-row-diplomacy-in-indonesia-the-short-answer, Mar. 4, 2015.

Carolyn Hoyle, Remembering women sentenced to death on International Women’s Day, OUPBlog, https://blog.oup.com/2015/03/women-death-penalty-international-womens-day/?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=oupacademic&utm_campaign=oupblog, Mar. 7, 2015.

Fox News, Saudi man faces death for ripping up Koran, renouncing Islam, http://www.foxnews.com/world/2015/03/09/saudi-man-faces-death-for-ripping-up-koran-renouncing-islam, Mar. 9, 2015.

Brady McCombs and Lindsay Whitehurst, Vote for firing squad shows frustration with drug shortages, Associated Press, http://bigstory.ap.org/article/c2b258f5a8c64764a68f37298a39cbf0/utah-set-bring-back-death-sentence-firing-squad, Mar. 11, 2015.

William Gibson, Death in the Land of Smiles, Pop Matters,http://www.popmatters.com/column/191625-death-in-the-land-of-smiles, Apr. 13, 2015.

ABC News Radio Breakfast, Research Director at Death Penalty Worldwide, based in New York, responds to Indonesian executions, http://www.abc.net.au/newsradio/content/s4225853.htm, Apr. 28, 2015.

Sarah Kaplan and Sarah Larimer, ‘Bali Nine’ leaders executed by firing squad in Indonesia, Washington Post, http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/04/28/bali-nine-leaders-in-indonesia-could-face-death-by-firing-squad-wednesday, Apr. 28, 2015.

Seven Network Morning Sunrise, The effectiveness of the death penalty, https://au.tv.yahoo.com/sunrise/video/watch/27540190/the-effectiveness-of-the-death-penalty, May 1, 2015.

Al Jazeera English, Newshour, May 16, 2015 (interview of Delphine Lourtau on the death sentence handed down to former Egyptian president Morsi).

Adam Taylor, Chart: The mystery behind a dramatic rise in executions in Saudi Arabia, Washington Post, https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2015/05/28/chart-the-mystery-behind-a-dramatic-rise-in-executions-in-saudi-arabia, May 28, 2015.

Human Rights Watch, Saudi Arabia: 100 Executions Since January 1, http://www.hrw.org/news/2015/06/16/saudi-arabia-100-executions-january-1, Jun. 16, 2015.

Vocativ, 16 Things That Could Get You Executed In Saudi Arabia, http://www.vocativ.com/underworld/crime/saudi-arabia-execution-beheading, Jun. 18, 2015.

The Guardian, North Korea has carried out 1,400 public executions since 2000, report claims, http://www.theguardian.com/law/2015/jul/06/north-korea-public-executions, Jul. 6, 2015.

Joanna Sugden, India’s Use of the Death Penalty Rises, http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2015/07/10/indias-use-of-the-death-penalty-rises, Jul. 10, 2015.

Bill Steele, Law students help reverse Malawi death penalty sentence, Cornell Chronicle, http://www.news.cornell.edu/stories/2015/07/law-students-help-reverse-malawi-death-penalty-sentence, Jul. 16, 2015.

Aya Batrawy, Saudi beheadings soar in 2015 under discretionary rulings, http://www.aol.com/article/2016/01/01/saudi-beheadings-soar-in-2015-under-discretionary-rulings/21290613/, Jan. 1, 2016.

Associated Press, Saudi Arabia beheaded 157 people in 2015, most executions in 20 years, http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/saudi-arabia-beheaded-157-people-2015-article-1.2483146, Jan. 1, 2016.

CNN, China is the world's top executioner, but it doesn't want you to know that, http://www.cnn.com/2016/04/06/asia/china-death-penalty, Apr. 6, 2016.

Maurice Chammah, How Mexico Saves Its Citizens From U.S. Executions, The Atlantic, http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2016/09/mexico-death-penalty-immigration/500630, Sep. 22, 2016.

Mariana Escobar Roldan, Pena de muerte, estrategia errada contra el terrorismo, El Colombiano, http://www.elcolombiano.com/internacional/pena-de-muerte-estrategia-errada-contra-el-terrorismo-HE5152832, Oct. 12, 2016.

Cornell Law School, Cornell Law School Launches Center on the Death Penalty Worldwide, http://www.lawschool.cornell.edu/news-center/Cornell-Law-Launches-Center-on-the-Death-Penalty-Worldwide.cfm, Oct. 25, 2016.

Karen Sloan, Cornell Launches Center to Help Defeat Death Penalty Worldwide, New York Law Journal, http://www.newyorklawjournal.com/this-weeks-news/id=1202770837326/Cornell-Launches-Center-to-Help-Defeat-Death-Penalty-Worldwide?mcode=1202615036097&curindex=4&slreturn=20160927091315, Oct. 26, 2016.

Shruti Juneja, Experts Debate the Death Penalty, Cornell Daily Sun, http://cornellsun.com/2016/10/27/experts-debate-the-death-penalty, Oct. 27, 2016.

Barbara Esuoso, Cornell Law School launches death penalty center, Cornell Chronicle, https://www.news.cornell.edu/stories/2016/10/cornell-law-school-launches-death-penalty-center, Oct. 27, 2016.

Lincoln Caplan, The growing gap between the U.S. and the international anti-death-penalty consensus, The New Yorker, http://www.newyorker.com/news/news-desk/the-growing-gap-between-the-u-s-and-the-international-anti-death-penalty-consensus, Dec. 31, 2016.

Fernando Anido, La pena de muerte se resiste a morir en 57 países, BEZ, http://www.bez.es/22608021/La-pena-de-muerte-se-resiste-a-morir-en-cincuenta-y-siete-paises.html, Jan. 9, 2017.

Last updated on May 1, 2017

Death Penalty Database

Global Executions Monitor

(updated weekly)

Global Executions Monitor 2015

Search the database

Advanced Search

facebook   twitter